TO BE READ IN CAMPS AND FILED



Department of the Chesapeake

SONS OF UNION VETERANS OF THE CIVIL WAR

105 Eagle Mountain Drive Shipman, Virginia 22971 jrarick@prodigy.net

Department Order No. 1 Series of 2020-2021 May 10, 2020

I am well aware of the unique and extraordinary nature of this 133rd Encampment of the Department of the Chesapeake and am humbled by the trust the Brothers have vested in me at this challenging time. In all things relating to the order I will place the welfare of our Brothers and Sisters of the Allied Orders first. To do this we will need to find innovative ways to work together as never before. Let us find new ways to further the remembrance and to be a worthy legacy of our forefathers who risked all to preserve the Union.

I wish to extend my congratulations and gratitude to the newly elected and re-elected officers of our Department and members of the Department Council:

Senior Vice Commander	Roger Leturno, PCC
Junior Vice Commander	Brian Horgan, PCC
Secretary/Treasurer	D. Michael Beard, PDC
Assistant Treasurer	Michael Paquette, PDC
Department Council	Mark Day, PCinC
Department Council	W. Faron Taylor, PDC
Department Council	Timothy McCoy, PDC

My sincere congratulations are also extended to each of the newly elected and re-elected officers of the Department of the Chesapeake Auxiliary, and notably its President, Barbara Day. We fully support the principles and purpose of the Auxiliary and stand ready to work closely with it to leverage our organizations' respective strengths as we both seek to honor our Union ancestors.

In accordance with the Constitution and Regulations of our Order and the Bylaws of the Department, I hereby publish the following appointments:

Chaplain Dr. Clifton Potter, PCC
Color Bearer Robert Heath, PCC

Organized 1881 heir to and representing the Grand Army of the Republic

Eagle Scout Coordinator Graves Registration Guard/Guide (dual potion) Historian JROTC/ROTC Coordinator Monuments Patriotic Instructor

Signals Officer

Aide-de-camp

[Vacant]
Roger Leturno, PCC
Jay Rarick, PCC
Tommy Chapman, CC
Mark Day, PCinC
Andrew Johnson, PCC

Robert Stine, PCC

Stephen Hammond, PCC

Wesley Mumper, PCC

The foregoing Department Order is proclaimed this Tenth Day of May in the year of our Lord Two Thousand Twenty, and of the Independence of the United States of America the Two Hundred Forty-Fourth.

By order of:

JAY A. RARICK

Department Commander

Attest: MICHAEL BEARD Department Secretary – Treasurer

