## TO BE READ IN CAMPS AND FILED



## Department of the Chesapeake

SONS OF UNION VETERANS OF THE CIVIL WAR

17 Rubins Walk Fredericksburg, VA 22405 tmccoydc@yahoo.com

May 9, 2019

Department Order No. 1 Series of 2019 -2020

I am truly humbled by the trust and confidence placed in me by the Brothers of the Department of the Chesapeake who elected me as Department Commander during the Department's  $132^{nd}$  Encampment this past weekend. While I am cognizant of the fact that this election represents a new chapter in the history of the Department, I assure you that I will endeavor to perform each of the duties of the office in a manner befitting our Order and our forefathers, and in continuance of the effective leadership of my predecessors. In furtherance of that goal, and after consultations with the Department Secretary/Treasurer and immediate past Department Commander, I am hereby establishing the Headquarters of the Department Commander at 17 Rubins Walk, Fredericksburg, VA 22405.

I wish to extend my congratulations and gratitude to the newly elected and re-elected officers of our Department and members of the Department Council:

Senior Vice Commander
Jay Rarick, PCC
Junior Vice Commander
Roger Leturno, PCC
Secretary/Treasurer
Department Council
Department Council
Department Council
Department Council
Department Council
Mark Day, PCinC
Barry Famous, PCC
Kevin Martin, PDC

My sincere congratulations are also extended to each of the newly elected and re-elected officers of the Department of the Chesapeake Auxiliary, and notably its President, Rosemary Martin. We fully support the principles and purpose of the Auxiliary and stand ready to work closely with it to leverage our organizations' respective strengths as we both seek to honor our Union ancestors.

(continued)

## Department Order No. 1 Series of 2019 -2020 Page Two

In accordance with the Constitution and Regulations of our Order and the Bylaws of the Department, I hereby publish the following appointments:

Patriotic Instructor Brian Horgan, PCC

Counselor
Chaplain
Andrew M. Johnson, PCinC
Arthur Clay Matthews
Signals Officer
Mark R. Day, PCinC
Historian
Charles N. Nalls

Graves Registration Steve Hammond, PDC
Eagle Scout Coordinator Robert Stine, PCC
Guide and Guard Lee Stone, PDC

Aide de Camp – ROTC Award

Coordinator Roger Leturno, PCC

Thank you again for your faith in my abilities. With your steadfast support, the Department of the Chesapeake will continue to further the cause of honoring the noble service of our ancestors who fought to preserve our beloved Union.

The foregoing Department Order is proclaimed this Ninth Day of May in the year of our Lord Two Thousand Nineteen, and of the Independence of the United States of America the Two Hundred Forty-Third.



By order of: TIMOTHY S. McCOY Department Commander

Attest: MICHAEL BEARD Department Secretary – Treasurer